Emergency Chicken Noodle Soup

The other day I got a text at work from Joe: My stomach isn’t doing so hot… I hope I didn’t come down with something.

Uh oh. First of all, I don’t want a sick husband. Who does? It’s not fun, and there’s a good chance you’re going to get whatever it is he has, too. Yuck. Second of all, what am I going to make for dinner that won’t upset an already icky stomach?!

Enter emergency chicken noodle soup. There is a decent amount of “cheating” in this recipe. Where I would normally use homemade chicken stock (or turkey since I have a ton left over from Christmas), it was frozen and I needed dinner fast. I also didn’t have any chicken already made, so while I was at the store for the noodles (which I also didn’t make from scratch) and veggies, I picked up a plain rotisserie chicken.

If you can overlook all of the “cheating” aspects of this soup, it is actually a great, healthy, easy homemade dinner any night of the week. Not just when someone in the family isn’t feeling well. It’s full of noodles and fresh veggies and healthy chicken, and it just tastes good. I used an entire bag of egg noodles in this batch because I like a lot of noodles in my soup, but if you prefer a soup with more broth you can just use half a bag.

Emergency Chicken Noodle Soup

Emergency Chicken Noodle Soup

  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 2 or 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 quarts (8 cups) low-sodium chicken broth
  • 4 carrots, peeled and sliced into coins
  • 2 celery stalks (including leaves), diced
  • 1 bag egg noodles
  • 1 rotisserie chicken, skin removed, meat chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 tablespoons chopped parsley, plus more for serving (optional)

Place a large pot over medium heat. Add about one tablespoon of olive oil and the onion and cook the onion until it becomes translucent, about 5 minutes, but don’t let it brown. Add the garlic and cook until it becomes fragrant. Pour in the chicken broth and and an equal amount of water (or, ideally, use all broth, but I didn’t have enough on hand), raise the heat to high and bring to a boil. Add the noodles (whole or half bag, depending on how you like your soup), carrots, celery, parsley and chicken and cook until the noodles are tender, about 10 minutes. Ladle into bowls and serve with a sprinkling of fresh parsley on top.

Leave a message...

